Reviews

9.0
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.2
Comfort
8.8
Property location
9.5
Facilities
8.8
Staff
9.2
Value
8.3

Reviews

    Omar
    us

    Review score

    10
    19 September 2018

    An excellent place to be with your partner

    The place is in the middle of the town so the location is excellent. The service is awesome and they gave us some pointers and recommendations. The owner has a nice place where you can get regional wines and beers. The balcony has a gorgeous view. Totally recommend this place.
    Marielouise
    nz

    Review score

    10
    18 September 2018

    100% would recommend

    Mario is fantastic, the place was easy to find, quick walk from the train station, perfect location. Breakfast was wonderful. Everything about our stay here was great - I only wish we had stayed in Monterosso longer
    Macs91
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    10 September 2018
    The stairs 😕
    Gorgeous room and excellent sitting terrace on the roof. Nice and quiet
    Amber Forder
    au

    Review score

    10
    20 August 2018

    Central Bed & Breakfast with great value

    Nothing- everything was great
    Great location in Monterrosso old town. Staff was so helpful and accommodating. Rooms were spacious and nicely decorated. Communal areas were very welcome.
    Eileen
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    30 July 2018

    Highly recommended home away from home experience.

    We had been notified by the property beforehand about the number of steep stairs leading up to the rooms which were fine for us but would not be suitable for everyone.
    This is centrally located, very well run accomodation almost like a split level apartment. A relatively easy walk from the station. Our family of four had 2 ensuite rooms on the same floor which led to a big upstairs "communal" sitting area with tea and coffee facilities, table and benches, and little sink which opened onto 2 lovely sunny terraces. On a lower floor which could be blocked off by a door, there was another bedroom which was unoccupied during our stay so we had the sitting area to ourselves. Michael was very helpful in all regards, particularly getting our luggage upstairs and back down again. A delicious daily continental breakfast plus hard boiled eggs and ham is included and available in his nearby Enoteca.
    Carolyne
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    16 July 2018

    Peaceful retreat

    Just to be aware, as others have mentioned, the stairs are steep but there are many Monterosso properties with steep staircases. Don’t rush if you are not comfortable on a steep staircase.
    We arrived by train and caught a taxi. The driver knew exactly where to take to take us and delivered us to the wine bar/restaurant. Mario and Valentina greeted us warmly and gave us a welcoming drink and explained all about the Cinque Terra card, the trains, the boats and made some recommendations for restaurants. Mario carried our suitcases up the three flights of stairs. The stairs are steep but manageable if you go slowly. The view from the rooftop is excellent and we spent a few nights up there enjoying the view with a drink. The room was really nice with good air conditioning and the apartment is in an excellent location, close to restaurants and the beach. The breakfast was really nice and it was good to not have to worry about having to find a place to go each morning.
    Rosemary
    au

    Review score

    9.2
    6 July 2018
    Lots of steep steps to get to our room. No fridge.
    The view from the rooftop terrace. Great host. Quiet room in a busy town.
    Stefan
    fi

    Review score

    9.2
    2 July 2018

    The epitome of Cinque Terre

    Well, I already mentioned the stairs, ok without luggage, but an idea: don't bring suitcases, take a back-pack!
    Want to try something out of the ordinary? Then choose this one! Horrible stairs indeed, but once you're up in the room, couldn't be better! Awesome terraces, and the room was a combination of the old world and boutique, both at their best.
    Glen
    gb

    Review score

    4.2
    2 July 2018
    It’s really hard to find by car there is no parking nearby and it is 25 euros a night in the local car park.The owner is rude (muttering in Italian and swearing). the stairs to the room are incredibly steep and poorly lit. The room is poorly maintained (toilet seat not secure and no hot water on arrival) It’s noisy at night the room has no view in fact I can’t find anything positive to say apart it was clean and the aircon worked. This area of Italy was probably beautiful at some stage but now it is commercial and ruined in my opinion think before you book Sorrento or even Maiori are far superior.
    It was a pleasure to leave
    rudolph
    ca

    Review score

    10
    29 June 2018

    Excellent

    Wonderful , amazing place. Mario treats you as if you were a close friend. Breakfast is great and coffee a treat. Stairs are steep but arriving at the terrace proves that the effort to get there is worth ever step. Wish we could have stayed much longer. Thank you Mario
    Malcolm
    au

    Review score

    8.3
    20 June 2018

    very enjoyable great location

    It was a very steep 3 storey walk up to the room with no elevator. Ok for young and fit people (mature as well as long as you are fit). There was no fridge or cooking facilities so unable to keep milk for coffee or cool beverages but apart from that it was good.
    The accommodation was good with a rooftop area to relax and drink some wine and a nice view towards the ocean. Breakfast was great and Mario was always helpful. Great location.
    neil
    gb

    Review score

    10
    17 June 2018
    No complaints at all Mario the owner was excellent we will return
    Britny
    us

    Review score

    10
    27 May 2018
    Mario went out of his way to make us comfortable from the moment we arrived. Despite his busy schedule, he met us as we arrived and carried all three of our very heavy luggages up the stairs. The rooftop terrace was perfect and the breakfast was an added treat. I will absolutely be back and would not stay anywhere else.
    Paul
    au

    Review score

    10
    21 May 2018
    The only negative is getting up the stairs to your apartment. They are extremely steep. Don’t worry about your luggage though. Mario carried them up for us.
    Central location right in the heart of old Monterosso. Mario’s hospitality was amazing. The effort he puts in to make sure his customers have the best stay possible is unsurpassed. His wine bar is pretty damn good to.
    Wfogg83
    es

    Review score

    8.8
    20 May 2018
    Cleaning of the room could be better, there´s some places in the room full of dust. Also the cleaning lady was very rude with us because we arrive when she was cleaning.
    Mario was very helpful and the accomodation was superb! Don´t forget there´s a lot of steps before you arrive to the property, but Mario will help you with your luggage. Decoration is nice and the bed is really comfy. The breakfast was also really nice. Only two rooms in the property, and we booked both of them, so we had both terraces for us!
    Samantha
    au

    Review score

    9.6
    16 May 2018

    Perfection in Monterosso !

    There are steep stairs up to your rooms which was fine for us but may prove difficult if you are less mobile.
    What a find ! Loved the location, the room and the balconies upstairs with the tea and coffee available all day for guests
    Alla
    sg

    Review score

    10
    4 August 2018
    It’s amazing hotel, very nice and confortable, located in historical district. The owner is very friendly and speaks good English. Highly recommended
    TAHIR
    us

    Review score

    10
    25 July 2018
    Air conditioning unit was a little noisy.
    Mario was an excellent host, very polite, extremely helpful.
    Paul Antonescu
    fr

    Review score

    9.6
    21 June 2018
    The stairs
    Nice terrace. Friendly and helpful staff
    us

    Review score

    10
    12 June 2018

    Quaint, lovely, and authentic!

    The stairs to our accommodations were a bit daunting should a person with health concerns stay there. The staff sweetly compensated for our traveling heavily! Still would choose Zia Letizia as my accommodations in Monterosso... as soon as I can!
    The room was utterly charming as was the terrace common area above. Breakfast was lavish and delicious each and every morning. The staff was unbelievably accommodating making our stay so, so pleasurable! A sweet, quaint town! Can't wait to visit Zia Letizia again!
Loading reviews